## Mayonnaise Manufacturers Convene in Boston

Co-operation and Quality Stressed at Annual Meeting of Producers' Association

AINTAINING splendidly their enviable past record for friendly cooperation between competitors for the purpose of advancing the business methods and quality of product of their industry as a whole, the Mayonnaise Products Manufacturers assembled in annual convention at the Copley-Plaza Hotel in Boston, October 29th to 31st, inclusive. The attendance was large and enthusiastic and bore witness to the rapid progress which the mayonnaise industry is making in this country.

The members of the Association were welcomed to Boston by Mrs. Nina M. Gevalt, Election Commissioner of the city. The feature of the first day's session, after committee reports were received, was the address of the Association's president, Mr. C. P. McCormick, of McCormick and Co., Baltimore, Md. President McCormick reviewed the progress of the industry to date, showing that the manufacturers of mayonnaise had been so successful in selling the idea of their products to the public, that the industry has grown within ten years to a volume of \$70,000,000 and now ranks among the leading food industries. He also discussed the relations of the industrv with chain-stores and other volume buyers and stressed the importance of price maintenance for the preservation of high standards of quality.

Dr. F. C. Blanck, of the United States Department of Agriculture addressed the Association on the



C. P. MCCORMICK President Mayonnaise Mfrs. Assoc.

subject of "Research and the Mayonnaise Industry" outlining the value of true chemical research to modern industry and to mayonnaise producers particularly. Dr. Blanck quoted Roger W. Babson to the effect that "the two best salesmen today are a 'better product' and a 'cheaper way of making it."

Other speakers who addressed the meetings were, Dr. David Wesson, A. E. Rouse, Jr., B. S. Pearsall and E. H. Farmer.

A dinner was tendered the Association on Monday evening by James A. Aicarda and Sons Co. and on Tuesday evening the annual banquet was held.

The officers chosen for the coming year were as follows:

President: C. P. McCormick, Baltimore, Md. V.-P.: E. P. Kelly, Columbus, O. Sec.-Treas.: Anna Schlorer Smith, Philadelphia, Pa.